Yohan Chung

Yohan Chung (1986)

| South Korea

Professor | Martin Schmeding

Accompanist | Yes

Yohan Chung (g. 1986) is a graduate of Kosin University in Busan, where he earned his Bachelor in church music. Subsequently he obtained Master's Degree and Soloist Diploma at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy in Leipzig, where he studied organ, harpsichord and improvisation. As well, he studied early music at the Hochschule für Künste in Bremen and church music at the Hochschule für Kirchenmusik in Dresden. Yohan's teachers were Martin Schmeding, Thomas Lennartz, Martin Strohhäcker, Roland Dopfer, Matthias Maierhofer and Stefan Engels. The organist participated in masterclasses led by Christoph Bossert, Wolfgang Zerer, Zsigmond Szathmary, Michael Radulescu, Harald Vogel and Jaroslav Tuma. Currently Y. Chung is the music director and the organist of church in Chemnitz.


  • Nicolaus Bruhns | Grande Prelude · E minor
  • Johann Sebastian Bach | Great Eighteen Chorale Preludes: Trio super ''Allein Gott in der Höh' sei Ehr'' · BWV 664
  • Faustas Latėnas | "Toccata"

  • Johann Sebastian Bach | Prelude and Fugue · E minor · BWV 548
  • Mikalojus Konstantinas Čiurlionis | Fugue · C sharp minor · VL 86
  • Petr Eben | "Laudes" · Laudes I

  • Mikalojus Konstantinas Čiurlionis | Fugue · B flat minor · VL 345
  • Max Reger | Two Chorale fantasias · Wie schön leucht't uns der Morgenstern · op. 40
  • Hugo Distler | Partita for Organ "Nun komm der heiden Heiland" No. 1 · op. 8

  • The Competition is under Patronage

    Main Supporters


    Member of